MNTN @ Drama Fever Awards 2013.jpg

Magnetic North hit the ground running in 2003 when emcees Derek Kan and Theresa Vu came together to write a song for an Asian American rally in Berkeley, California. The piece, titled “We Will Not Be Moved,” was an ode to their heritage – a mix of refugee war stories and reflections about skin color and stereotypes. Their mix of refreshingly honest rhymes and organic beats has since become the duo’s trademark as they went on to rock stages and move hearts at hundreds of venues nationwide. Since their debut album release in 2006, Magnetic North has turned heads from label execs across the country to renowned civil rights activist civil rights activist Yuri Kochiyama.


Honored by Governor David A. Paterson and the State of New York for his “legacy of leadership to the Asian American community and the Empire State” in May 2010, Taiyo Na is a singer, songwriter, MC and producer. His debut album Love is Growth (Issilah Productions, 2008) established himself as “a multidimensional talent with a unique creative voice that fuses the rhythms of the city that raised him with the soul of the Asian immigrant culture that birthed him” ( The album features the song “Lovely To Me (Immigrant Mother),” whose music video to the song was heralded by MTV Iggy as “the as “the realest thing seen in a while.”



In 2010, Magnetic North & Taiyo Na created Home:Word, a collaborative album considered a hip hop classic for Asian America. The title song became a chart-topping hit in Japan and Korea, as well as a music video directed by Wong Fu Productions. Magnetic North & Taiyo Na is comprised of MC/tech executive Theresa "T-Vu" Vu, MC/producer Derek Kan, and musician/writer/educator Taiyo Na.